History of the hotel
The building (constructed by Mr. E. Eiswer on the site of the current Hotel Central – “on the corner of Petrinjska Street opposite the railway station”) was erected in 1893.
Until the re-opening of the hotel in 1952, the building housed the offices for military invalids and the canteen of the workshops of the national railroad
The hospitality enterprise “Hotel Central” was founded on 29 December 1951 based on a decision of the People’s Committee of the City of Zagreb, when it took over the hotel. It has been successfully operating since that time.
In 1960, the two-story building was partially demolished and the Sisak Steelworks, based on a unique project of the engineer V. Ugrenović of 1957-1959 and the Architectural Project Office Ugrenović of 1960, and as part of the project and working drawings, produced a steel skeleton construction with four floors and a mansard roof.
Between 1994 and 1996 reconstruction of the facade, roof, and some of the rooms was carried out and the hotel acquired its current appearance.
A suspended ventilating aluminum structural facade based on a project of the company Interkonzalting of Zagreb under architectural engineers Ranko Lukas and Ante Labur was carried out for the first time in the Republic of Croatia on a metal supporting structure with tempered reflective windows and with casings of ALUCOBONDA, the coating of the ground floor façade with black Nero Assoluto polished granite, and covering the roof area with copper sheets. In 2001-2002, the hotel was completely air conditioned. In 2007, the Tomislav reception room was renovated, and in 2015, the final adaptation, the renovation and outfitting of the majority of the rooms, the reception area and the dining room, was completed.